My Morning Glory Muffins

When Nate and I were in Cambodia, Nate fell in love with some of the muffins we would buy.  Just the other day, Nate was asking me if I could try to make them.  Knowing me, I had to make them as healthy as possible!  So, I found a few different recipes and mixed up what I thought he would like and be healthy at the same time. Here is what I came up with…

Kristie’s Morning Glory Muffins

 

Muffins

Ingredients

Dry 

  • 3/4 cup chopped walnuts
  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 c ground flax
  • 2 tbsp sugar
  • 2 unpeeled carrots, shredded

Wet

  • 2 cup applesauce
  • 1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 banana, mashed
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Spray muffin tin[s] with oil.
  2. Add all dry ingredients together in a large bowl and mix to combine.
  3. Combine all wet ingredients and mix well.
  4. Pour wet ingredients into flour mixture and combine well.
  5. Divide batter into the muffin cups.  Bake 20-25 minutes.

Add a little butter to the top of your warm muffin and enjoy!

2 thoughts on “My Morning Glory Muffins

Leave a Reply

