Kristie’s Dirty Chai Tea Latte

I love coffee.  Obviously, from this post, right?  Well, sometimes black coffee [my normal coffee drink of choice] doesn’t sound as good.  Sometimes I want something a little smoother.  Well, when I do, I generally go to another drink of choice… my Dirty Chai Tea Lattee [cause I can’t cut the coffee out].

coffee

Courtesy of WholeWildWorld on Etsy

So, instead of removing coffee I built a drink around it.  There are a few things you may want to have for this little concoction.  They aren’t very expensive and they make the drink taste so much better, or so I believe.

One, I love to make this on the stove top.  Mostly because it gives the teabags much longer to seep.  And more seep equals more flavor.  Since I’m only making one cup, a teapot or a saucepan is too large. So I use a Stainless Steal Frothing Pitcher.  Its the perfect size for what I am doing.  I wish I could find one with a lid, but I just take an espresso saucer and it fits perfectly over the top.

Frothing Pitcher

Stainless Steal Frothing Pitcher

 

Second, I use a milk frother.  I was making this without them and there was a serious change in flavor.  And, this Ikea Milk Frother is so inexpensive I don’t feel guilty for using it at all.  This is the second one I have purchased.  The first one I bought a few years before I moved overseas and it worked wonderfully.  When I moved, I gave it away.  When I moved back, I really did miss it.  And I think it works just as well as a very expensive one.

Ikea_Frother

So, now that you know what I have used… lets get onto the recipe!!

Kristie’s Dirty Chai Latte

wpid-wp-1418051331575.jpeg

I ❤ My Dirty Chai

  • 1/2 – 1 cup almond milk [but use any milk you prefer]
  • 2 Earl Grey Tea Bags
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • dash of nutmeg
  • dash of ginger
  • dash of cloves
  • You could also add a dash of black pepper or cardamom, if you would like
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • Coffee

In your pitcher, add the milk, tea bags, and spices.  Cover and heat on medium high on your stove until hot [3-5 minutes].  Turn down to medium low and let sit for 10 more minutes for the tea bags to seep. Place your sugar in your drinking glass and then add the chai tea you just made.  Froth with your milk frother.  Pour coffee to fill the rest of your cup.

Enjoy!

 

 

Leave a Reply

