Crochet Baby Bow Hat

My sister-in-law commissioned me to make a baby girl hat for a pregnant girlfriend.  I mulled around Pinterest and found the cutest Newborn Baby Bow Hat Pattern on Projects Around the House. I verified with my sister-in-law and she loved the idea.  So, I made the first one exactly according to the instructions [using the colors my sister-in-law picked out] and this was the result:

Baby Bow Hat -- the Cutest!!

Baby Bow Hat — the Cutest!!

How adorable is this!!! But when I looked at it I was so scared that it wouldn’t be big enough.  I mean, I’ve never had a child so I don’t have anything to judge that by, but still I would hate it if her friend wouldn’t be able to use it.  So, I improvised on the original to make one that is a bit bigger…

Baby Bow Hat #2

Baby Bow Hat #2

Still super adorable!!!! And this one will for sure fit… maybe not as a newborn… but as she gets a bit bigger it will be perfect.  Unfortunately when I put this together I didn’t save the exact pattern that I used… but from what I remember, I made the following changes from Projects Around the House’s pattern:

  • Instead of a G hook I used at least an I hook.
  • I added another increase row between round 4 and round 5.
  • For the bow, I started with chain 20 and added a row or two to make it proportional to the hat.

 

One thought on “Crochet Baby Bow Hat

Leave a Reply

